Brown Middle School




(click to go to page)
incoming 6th graders info icon

Summer Football logo          registration logo          summer band logo
Includes FOOTBALL and BAND

Click image below for entire packet or go to individual parts in other images

summer reading graphic

Brown Middle School Families,

This summer, all students planning to attend BMS will be required to invest time in independent reading. Studies show that students who read independently increase their vocabulary, their reading comprehension, and their overall academic performance. Independent reading also gives students opportunities to have adventures and get to know new people. Reading helps you grow as a person. We want you to have a fun summer that includes reading every day!

Summer Reading Expectations:

    ★ Complete one of the focused choice books for your upcoming grade level
    ★ Read a book of your choice. Recommendations/suggestions are provided.
    ★ Read for a minimum of 20-30 minutes each day and log your pages and minutes. (print log or copy to your Drive)  
    ★ Choose one of the Project Options for your focused book and make notes as you read that will help you complete it. We suggest you use the graphic organizer provided here (link to copy to your Drive or link to print) or something similar.
    ★ Your summer reading project will be due the first week of school. ★ For more information about each book, go to Common Sense Media

    6th grade reading 7th grade reading 8th grade reading summer reading project options

These are great fiction and nonfiction books we think you will enjoy and they will help you be familiar with what you will be learning next year. In addition you may choose a book/books you would like to read for extra credit and prizes. All books are available through your Sora app on Class Link, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, the Chattanooga Public Library (ebooks and hard copy), check out from BMS, and some books have links to free on-line copies. You must also create a project to present in the first week of school that will count as a test grade. There will be a celebration, including prizes and awards for your efforts over the summer, and a big prize for the top three readers in each grade level.


To register, go to

2022 Supply Lists

6th Grade supplies icon 7th grade supplies icon 8th grade supplies icon
related arts supplies logo  ex ed supplies icon
picture of a newspaper Extra, Extra, Read All About It!

 May 2022 issue of Chargers Chronicle is now available under Announcements!
Brown Middle School families have the opportunity to get
free high-speed internet from EPB
through the HCS EdConnect program.
Please contact Mrs. Rox at (423) 708-5251.

Students need to be at school by 7:10 am, each day. 

2021 Handbook icon 
Especially note the new dress code: NO HOODIES; NO CROCS
Please familiarize yourself with the school dress code.  It is imperative that students dress according to the school dress code every day.  Dress-down guidelines are also included in this document.  


chromebook image Missing a chromebook charger?  You can pay for a replacement charger online through Online School Payments.

Technology Trouble?

Click here

Harrison Bay LC Logo

All content © 2022 Hamilton County Schools. All rights reserved. | Privacy Notice | Website by School Messenger